Three Rock Songs About How Much Love Hurts

Ohhhh, oh, love hurts.

Lannie Rose

--

Love Hurts

The most famous recording was by the Scottish metal band Nazareth in 1975. You might also be familiar with Gram Parson’s 1974 version in a country/folk style, a soulful vocal duet with Emmy Lou Harris. The song was originally recorded by The Everly Brothers in 1960. It was written by six songwriters! Seems like a lot for such a simple tune.

Love hurts, love scars
Love wounds and marks
Any heart
Not tough or strong enough
To take a lot of pain, take a lot of pain
Love is like a cloud
Holds a lot of rain
Love hurts
Ooh, ooh, love hurts

I’m young, I know, but even so
I know a thing or two
I learned from you
I really learned a lot, really learned a lot
Love is like a stove*
It burns you when it’s hot
Love hurts
Ooh, ooh, love hurts

Some fools think of happiness
Blissfulness, togetherness
Some fools fool themselves, I guess
They’re not foolin’ me

I know it isn’t true
I know it isn’t true
Love is just a lie
Made to make you blue
Love hurts
Ooh, ooh, love hurts
Ooh, ooh, love hurts

I know it isn’t true
I know it isn’t true
Love is just a lie
Made to make you blue
Love hurts
Ooh, ooh, love hurts
Ooh, ooh, love hurts
Ooh, ooh…

* Nazareth sang “Love is like a flame,” which is dumb: a flame always hot!

Source: Musixmatch

Songwriters: Morten Schjolin / Denis Noel Ingoldsby / Leanne Cummings / Lynsey Schofield / Karina Brians / Katherine Haslam

Love Hurts lyrics © Sony/atv Acuff Rose Music, First Avenue Music Ltd., Soul Kitchen Music Ltd

Don’t Do Me Like That — Tom Petty

I heard this song on the radio a lot during one particular break-up.

I was talking with a friend of mine
Said a woman had hurt his pride
Told him that she loved him so
And turned around and let him go
Then he said, you better watch your step
Or your gonna get hurt yourself
Someone’s gonna tell you lies
Cut you down to size

Don’t do me like that
Don’t do me like that
What if I love you baby?
Don’t do me like that

Don’t do me like that
Don’t do me like that
Someday I might need you baby
Don’t do me like that

Listen honey, can you see?
Baby, you would bury me
If you were in the public eye
Givin’ someone else a try
And you know you better watch your step
Or you’re gonna get hurt yourself
Someone’s gonna tell you lies
Cut you down to size

Don ‘t do me like that
Don’t do me like that
What if I love you baby?
Don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t

’Cause somewhere deep down inside
Someone is saying, Love doesn’t last that long
I got this feelin’ inside night and day
And now I can’t take it no more

Listen honey, can you see?
Baby, you would bury me
If you were in the public eye
Givin’ someone else a try
And you know you better watch your step
Or you’re gonna get hurt yourself
Someone’s gonna tell you lies
Cut you down to size

Don’t do me like that
Don’t do me like that
What if I love you baby?
Don’t, don’t, don’t, don’t

Don’t do me like that
Don’t do me like that
I just might need you honey
Don’t do me like that

Written by Tom Petty in 1974
Recorded by Tom Petty and The Heartbreakers in 1979

Love Stinks — J. Geils Band

Written by J. Geils singer Peter Wolf when he was divorcing actress Faye Dunaway … Faye, what did you do to the poor dude?

You love her
But she loves him
And he loves somebody else
You just can’t win
And so it goes
’Til the day you die
This thing they call love
It’s gonna make you cry

I’ve had the blues
The reds and the pinks
One thing for sure
(Love stinks)

Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah

Two by two, and side by side
Love’s gonna find you, yes, it is
You just can’t hide
You’ll hear it call
Your heart will fall
Then love will fly
It’s gonna soar

I don’t care for any Casanova thing
All I can say is
(Love stinks)

Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah

I’ve been through diamonds
I’ve been through minks
I’ve been through it all
(Love stinks)

Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah

Love stinks
Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks (love stinks), yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)

Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks, yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks (love stinks), yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks (love stinks), yeah, yeah
(Love stinks)
Love stinks (love stinks)

Source: Musixmatch
Recorded 1979, released 1980
Songwriters: Seth Justman / Peter Wolf
Love Stinks lyrics © Center City Music, Pal-park Music

--

--

Lannie Rose

Nice to have a place where my writing can be ignored by millions